The White Lily (
thewhitelily) wrote2007-09-12 03:26 pm
Can I ask a question?
If you have a nasal congestion including runny nose and blocked sinuses to the point where it's very obvious in your voice and aggravating everyone around you with your incessent, disgusting, drawn out sniffing - assuming you have no actual allergies or other reasons for staying away from medication - and assuming that the tablets of nasal decongestent are right in front of you, brought by your frustrated colleague who is forced to remain in the room with you... why would you refuse to take the them and relieve not only your own discomfort, but that of those around you?
Is it a male thing? Some kind of macho "I'm not sick, I just like to drive everyone nuts and complain a lot"? Or is it just that Mummy didn't teach him to blow his nose when he was little and so he sees no problem with snivelling his way through every day until he's better again?
Gaargh. I know I'm probably overreacting, because I have an unusually low tolerance for biological sounds - I get driven into a homicidal rage by the sound of someone eating an apple - corn chips and crunchy pizza reheated in the oven are of the devil, and woe betide anyone who slurps a hot drink nearby me, but...
AAARGH! STOP SNIVELLING AND JUST TAKE THE DARN DRUGS, HUBBY!!@!@$@!
Is it a male thing? Some kind of macho "I'm not sick, I just like to drive everyone nuts and complain a lot"? Or is it just that Mummy didn't teach him to blow his nose when he was little and so he sees no problem with snivelling his way through every day until he's better again?
Gaargh. I know I'm probably overreacting, because I have an unusually low tolerance for biological sounds - I get driven into a homicidal rage by the sound of someone eating an apple - corn chips and crunchy pizza reheated in the oven are of the devil, and woe betide anyone who slurps a hot drink nearby me, but...
AAARGH! STOP SNIVELLING AND JUST TAKE THE DARN DRUGS, HUBBY!!@!@$@!

A silly theory.
Essentially, you're asking him to become less fertile. And what man would do that?
Either that, or he just really enjoys sniffing.
Re: A silly theory.
Although, I must admit, the whole male subconscious being stupid enough to confuse bodily fluids thing actually sounds quite likely to me. Certainly more likely than anyone actually enjoying sniffing. :P
no subject
somewhatirrational belief that it makes your lips incredibly sore. But yeah, I'm the complete opposite: a cold = stay home from school for a week under a blanket and watch crap day-time TV.no subject
Makes your lips sore, though, eh? That's... um... new? You don't mean just your upper lip between your nose and mouth, do you? I could believe that...
Ahhh, crap day-time TV. It was being sick that first hooked me on carpy murder mysteries. And the best thing is the afternoon, when you get to watch all the kids TV and mock all the things that weren't around when you were a kid and feel all nostalgic for the things that were. :P
no subject
no subject
Were you using a night-time tablet? They aren't always marked as that, but they make you tired because they've got antihistamine... [/obviousmint]
no subject
Eh, I don't think it was a night-time tablet, for at least one of the times I've tried to take nasal decongestants. But I can't actually remember, because the last time I was optimistic/congested enough to try them was quite a few years ago. =P
no subject
Re: A silly theory.
Antibiotics are the exception of course: no one wants superflu. Sometimes I go a little bit far in the other direction on that one, and thus a couple of years ago I ended up on the couch with the mother of all chest infections for almost a month. It's amazing to think that if I'd lived a century ago I would most likely have died at the age of twenty-two.
Re:
no subject
(Anonymous) 2007-09-13 05:06 am (UTC)(link)You know wife's comments/actions <= colleague/anyother person on the planet!! Infact, I think its really that anythings wife says or does ... isn't so much ignored, but paid *MORE* attention if its said/done by another person... Oh, and don't say "but I've been telling you that for long... but you listen when so-&-so says it?" as that just escalates the argument!
Ofcourse I'd have no personal experiences of this matter at all :P
E.
p.s.... I'm now wondering if I've ever annoyed you with my eating/drinking... I know my hubby has told me I'm noisy .... *hopes Lily hasn't wanted to kill E for noisy eating/drinking!*
no subject
Unfortunately, yes, I am the frustrated colleague and you're right, that does mean that my opinion ranks rather lower in the scheme of things. Ah well - I guess that's the price we pay for getting to ignore their opinions, too. :P
PS: *grin* Can't remember ever particularly wanting to kill you, so probably no more than any other person on the planet. :P Besides, I'm neurotic, I understand this, so don't worry - I'll leave the knives at home when I come to visit. :)
PPS: I also think that there's probably a correlation between how far apart you and your Hubby usually sit when you're eating and his comparative judgement about the noisiness of your eating as opposed to anyone else. Besides the whole inverse square thing, there's also the fact that he has a lot more chances to notice the way you eat than he has for most people and once one starts noticing and getting irritated by a particular personal quirk it's hard to stop. [/overanalysis]
no subject
I don't think it's just a male thing. For me, it's more like this: being sick drains my energy, so I'm too lazy to either reach for the tissue box or get up and take any medicines. I thus sniff a lot. Soon, usually when I'm about to get up and do something about it, my family will protest the snivelling sounds and advise me to take the drugs, or at least blow my nose, for goodness' sake. But being sick also makes me grumpy, which in this case means I feel like being defiant just to tick people off, and so I refuse to do anything about it even though I know that I'm being inconsiderate and that the advice is for my own good.
Eventually, once I'm alone, I'll sneakily blow my nose and take the drugs.
*is a Rebel Without A Cause*